top of page

The Gap Year


Over the last year I've struggled with distance in my relationship with God. I'm not going to go into detail here, but if you want to hear my story I'd be happy to share it over a cup of tea. This experience of distance is a common one for many Christians. St. John of the Cross described it as a "dark night of the soul". There can be many causes for feeling like there's a gulf between you and God - the roar of the urgent, the cacophony of desires in your heart, the clamour of your sinful flesh, and the din of trouble and suffering all contribute to a deafening noise that threatens to, if not silence, at least attempt to drown out the low whisper of the LORD. (See 1 Kings 19)

During my "gap year" scripture wasn't finding traction in my heart, and the longer I indulged the feeling of abandonment the less I asked for the feeling to change. What I needed was a wakeup call to the reality that my ears couldn't hear, my eyes couldn't see, and my heart couldn't feel. God graciously used this free article as an alarm clock for me, and if you're feeling the gap, I pray he does the same for you.


bottom of page